NFU v Reckitts (ERSC F)

East Riding Senior Cup Final
North Ferriby United v Reckitts

Tuesday 7th May 2013 KO 7.00 pm at The KC Stadium

Evostik premier Division Champions and Leagu Cup winners will be looking for a third title in a fortnight when they play Reckitts in the East Riding Senior Cup Final.

Ferriby will start as clear  favourites but Reckitts are sure to make a fight of i on what is a big night for both clubs at a wonderful stadium.

A final at the KC is a fitting end to Ferriby's wonderful season and to football in the area with boht The Villagers and Hull City gaining promotion.

Ferriby have proved to be popular members of the Northern Premier League since entering in 2000 and this was shown by the sheer volume of congratulations that poured in to the club on Saturday night following the title victory.

Ferriby manager Billy Heath was absolutely delighted with his team's performance, "It's a great day. I've played and managed at Ferriby and that really makes it special. The players have been tremendous. Mark and myself have demanded a lot from them over the season and they have responded magnificently."

Chairman Les Hare who has masterminded Ferriby's progress over the last 18 years was equally delighted, "Getting to Wembley in 1997 was a tremendous and never-to-be-forgotten achievement but this title win is at a totally different level and is just amazing. We wnt top in October and we've stayed there for 30 weeks. That's absolutely phenomenal."

Ferriby knew a win on Saturday would give them the title  and, in all honesty, there was only going to be one winner as The Villagers dominated Ashton who only managed two shots on target in the whole game. Visiting keeper Paul Phillips kept them in the game but a goal each from Ryan Kendall and Anthony Wilson saw Ferriby home.

Heath has rung the changes in his team selections for the East Riding Cup this year and, despite Saturday's title win, he may well keep faith with the players who have taken the time to the final.

This will provide starting opportunities for some of the younger players and for those squad players who have had to start on the bench or make infrequent appearances.

Possible Ferriby squad: Adam Nicklin; Gregg Anderson, Steve Gardner, Paul Robson, Paul Foot, Mark Gray, Nathan Peat, Liam King, Russell Fry, Danny Clarke, Chris Bolder, Ryan Williams, Anthony Wilson, Ryan Kendall, Gary Bradshaw, Steve Ridley, Oliver Banks, Antoni Pecora, Rob Moy, Sam Belcher, Louis Kirk, Louis Bruce

Ferriby fans have until midnight on the 7th May to vote for their player of the year.


Our Sponsors

Our Sponsors