NFU v Matlock Town (Evo Prem)

Tuesday 21st  February 7.45pm
Evostik Northern Premier League Premier Division

North Ferriby United v Matlock Town

Ferriby entertain Matlock Town at the Rapid Solicitors Stadium on Tuesday . A win for The villagers will see them leap-frog Matlock in the Evostik Premier Division table.

There were mixed emotions after Saturday's narrow home defeat to high-flying Northwich Victoria.

Ferriby played most of the first half with ten men after debutant Steve Gardner was sent-ff for handling on the line after only eight minutes. Steve Wilson saved the penalty and Ferriby hassled and harried the visitors who found it difficult to create any clear chances.

Matters got worse for Ferriby near half-time. Chris Bolder was sent-ff in the 42nd minute. Northwich then took the lead on the stroke of half-time.

Against the odds, Ferriby's nine ran their socks off in the second half. They constantly pressed Northwich's midfield to limit opportunities. Ferriby were somewhat unfortunate to find themselves three down but fought back magnificently. Goals from Russell Fry and wayne Brooksby reduced the arrears and left Northwich rocking by the end.

Chairman Les Hare had been highly critical of the players following the recent performance at Stocksbridge but after Saturday's match he said, "I can give the players nothing but praise for their performance today. Their spirit and attitude were magnificent and in the end we were fortunate not to have gained a point."

Like his Chairman, Manager Billy Heath was pleased with the attitude of his players as they kept themselves in the game. He is looking for the same attitude against Matlock on Tuesday in a game The Villagers are more than capable of winning.

Sam Denton has left the club, otherwise Heath should have a full squad to choose from. The only doubts are keeper Adam Nicklin and skipper Paul Footwho may or may not have recovered from an ankle injury.

Probable Ferriby Squad: Steve Wilson, Adam Nicklin,Steve Gardner, Dominic Riordan, Nathan Peat, Paul Foot,  James Williams, Kevin Larvin,  Gregg Anderson, , Chris Bolder, Russell Fry, Wayne Brooksby, Gary Bradshaw, Lee Morris,Timothy Taylor, Danny Clarke, Sam Belcher, Luke Thompson, Rob Moy

Our Sponsors

Our Sponsors