NFU v Matlock Town (Evo Prem)

Saturday 4th February 3.00pm
Evostik Northern Premier League Premier Division

North Ferriby United v Matlock Town

Ferriby entertain Matlock Town at the Rapid Solicitors Stadium on Saturday.

Manager Billy Heath will be expecting his players to show their strength of character and bounce back from last Saturday's record defeat at Stocksbridge Park Steels.

Last Saturday's performance led to Chairman Les Hare saying, ‘Today's standard of football was below the level acceptable at this football club, and I can only apologise to the supporters'. Mistakes in defence were punished by some clinical finishing from Stocksbridge. Ferriby had no complaints about the result.

The Club will also be hit by a fine from the FA for picking-up six cautions. There was not one malicious tackle in the game but the referee saw fit to issue 11 cautions in total. His decisions mystified just about everybody at the game.

  The Villagers have now failed to score in their last five league games and until Saturday had been defending well. The lack of goals obviously continues to give cause for concern. The side missed another penalty against Stocksbridge.

Matlock have struggled in recent weeks and Heath will be looking to his players to get a good result to move towards mid-table safety. Heath has a relatively small squad so there may not be too many team changes on Saturday. Even so, he was bitterly disappointed by Saturday's display and will not accept continuing poor performances.

Nathan Peat is available again following suspension. It is hoped  that Sam Denton will be fit again after his leg injury.  Striker Lee Morris who was signed from matlock last week  may make his home debut against his former team-mates. Ben Morley remains a long-term injury absentee.

Probable Ferriby Squad: Steve Wilson, Adam Nicklin, Dominic Riordan,Nathan Peat, Sam Denton, Anthony Lloyd, Paul Foot,  James Bennett, James Williams, Kevin Larvin,  Gregg Anderson, Alex Davidson, Chris Bolder, Paul Harsley, Wayne Brooksby, Gary Bradshaw, Lee Morris, Timothy Taylor, Danny Clarke, Sam Belcher

Our Sponsors

Our Sponsors