NFU v Colwyn Bay (VCN)

Vanarama Conference North
North Ferriby United v Colwyn Bay
Saturday 11  April 2015 ; KO 3.00 pm

Ferriby’s play-off hopes may be over but they will be looking for all three points against relegation threatened Colwyn Bay at the Eon Visual media Stadium on Saturday.

The reverse league fixture at Llanelian Road in September saw the sides battle-out a goalless draw. The game will best be remembered for Adam Nicklin’s magnificent save in the final seconds from Obi Anoruo. The photo of it appeared in the FA Trophy Final programme. It promises to be an equally tough game on Saturday.

Ferriby will want to put their last two league games behind them after conceding eight goals in them. The Villagers are usually very strong defensively but they have conceded some “soft” goals in the last two games.

What makes it more disappointing is that Ferriby created plenty of chances and with better defending could well have beaten both Chorley and Harrogate.

The scoreline at Harrogate may make it seem that The Villagers played badly but they dominated the second-half and the scoreline was harsh on them. The highlight for Ferriby on Monday was Adam Bolder’s superb 35-yard chip for their solitary goal.

Manager Billy Heath commented, “Our defending has not been good in the last couple of games and it has cost us dearly. You get punished for your mistakes at this level.

“However, we have been producing some good approach play and creating chances. Colwyn will be tough opponents on Saturday because they will be desperate for the points.

“That said, we also want the points because we need to finish the season strongly and as high up the table as possible.”

Adam Nicklin and Danny Emerton are injured and will miss the rest of the season. Liam King is doubtful due to a leg injury picked-up at Harrogate. Matt Wilson returns from suspension

NFU from: Jonathan Hedge, Tom Nicholson, Sam Topliss, Nathan Peat, Louis Bruce, Josh Wilde, Mark Gray, Matt Wilson, Danny Hone, Adam Bolder, Liam King, Jon D’Laryea, Tom Denton, Nathan Jarman, Ryan Kendall, Jason St Juste, Danny Clarke, Russ Fry, Curtis Bateson, Tim Taylor


Our Sponsors

Our Sponsors