NFU 3 Harrogate Town 2

The Skrill North
19 April 2014
Reporter: Phil Withers

North Ferriby United 3  Harrogate Town 2
Scorers: NFU: Nathan Jarman 22p; Mark Gray 64; Anthony Wilson 69
Harrogate Town: Ashley Worsfold 26; Anton Brown 37

Ferriby staged a second-half fightback to win an entertaining game to stay top of the Skrill North.

Despite having the better of the first-half, Ferriby found themselves 2-1 down at half-time. Ferriby’s Jamie Yates drew a good flying save from Craig McGillivray in the third minute. Shortly after only the post prevented Liam King heading Ferriby in front.

Harrogate were struggling to create chances and it was no surprise when Ferriby went ahead after 22 minutes. Nathan Jarman sent McGillivray the wrong way from the spot after the keeper had brought down Anthony Wilson.

Four minutes late Ashley Worsfold equalised with a shot from the edge of the area. Ferriby continued to threaten. However, it was Harrogate who took the lead. Ferriby keeper Adam Nicklin got a hand to Anton Brown’s 30-yard shot but could not quite keep it out.

Harrogate started the second-half looking for a clinching goal and had a number of opportunities on quick breaks. Liam hardy missed a good opportunity with only Nicklin to beat.

Ferriby equalised after 64 minutes when Mark Gray headed home Russ Fry’s free-kick. Five minutes later Wilson fired home from 12 yards to score the deciding goal.

Harrogate pressed for an equaliser but were denied twice by superb goalkeeping from Nicklin who produced on-handed saves from Worsfold and Hardy.

NFU: Adam Nicklin, Paul Robson, Josh Wilde (Nathan Peat 45), Liam King, Mark Gray, Danny Hone, Danny Clarke, Russell Fry, Anthony Wilson, Nathan Jarman, (Ryan Kendall 90), Jamie Yates (Danny Emerton 56),  Subs not used: Nathan Peat

Harrogate Town: Craig McGilivray, Dwayne Samuels, Dave Merris, Anton Brown (Alex Metcalfe 45),, Matt Bloomer, Matt Heath, Dominic Rowe (Michael Woods 80), Adam Bolder, Ashley Worsfold, Liam Hardy, Dan Clayton (Conor Sellars 86). Subs not used: Steve Mallory, Craig Nelthorpe,


Our Sponsors

Our Sponsors