NFU 2 Colwyn Bay 4 (VCN)

Vanarama Conference North
Saturday 11th April 2015

North Ferriby United  2  Colwyn Bay    4

Scorers: NFU Jason St Juste 7; Tom Denton 37

Scorers: Colwyn: Obi Anoruo 6; Chris Noone 67; Rob Hopley 75; Marc Williams 90+1

The Villagers crashed to a third successive league defeat and have conceded four goals in each of them. Ferriby had nobody to blame but themselves as they slumped to defeat against a determined Colwyn bay side that eventually showed more hunger for the game than the home side.

Ferriby were left to rue a series of missed chances in the first-half as Colwyn Bay dominated the second-half and secured a vital win in their battle against relegation.

A strong wind blowing down the pitch made life difficult but it was Colwyn who finally made the most of the conditions. Ferriby had the wind at their backs in the first-half and such was their domination that they should have been out-of-sight by the half-time whistle.

Ferriby could have been three ahead in the first six minutes  with Danny Clarke  curling a shot just wide before two shots were blocked in a goalmouth scramble. The second block saw the ball cleared quickly to Obi Anoruo who found himself with time and space to take the ball on before hitting a low shot past Tom Nicholson.

Ferriby equalised inside a minute with Jason St Juste equalising following another goal mouth scramble.

The Villagers dominated virtually the whole of the half from then on but chance after chance either went begging or was denied by some desperate defending from Colwyn.

Clarke was denied by Colwyn keeper Chris Sanna who reacted  quickly to come out and block Clarke’s shot.

Ferriby had a goal disallowed, correctly, when Louis Bruce’s long throw-in went amazingly went in off the far post without anybody touching it.

St Juste also had a goal disallowed for off-side as Ferriby continually pressed.. Sanna saved at Russ Fry’s feet before Adam Bolder fired over the bar. Denton was denied by a last-ditch challenge from a defender before Ferriby deservedly took the lead. Bolder’s deep cross found Denton who placed a looping header over Sanna after 37 minutes.

Colwyn had a brief period of pressure but did not seriously trouble Nicholson.

The second-half was totally different. Ferriby did not have one attempt on goal as Colwyn Bay controlled midfield and snuffed-out Ferriby’s rare attacks with ease.

Denton cleared off Ferriby’s line after 47 minutes as Bay came out determined to get a result. Jonathan Royle headed over from a corner.  James Ellison fired a free-kick over the bar and Nicholson did well to block Williams as the burst through.

Bay’s equaliser came after 67 minutes following their tenth corner of the half. Ellison’s corner reached Chris Noone and he hammered the ball home through a crowd of players for a deserved equaliser.

Even this could not lift Ferriby who, rarely for them, completely lost the midfield battle. They were slow to the ball and misplaced passes helped Colwyn to continue to press forward.

It was no more than Bay deserved when Rob Hopley put them ahead for the second time when he hit home after Ferriby keeper Tom Nicholson parried Marc Williams shot.

Bay continued to control the game and it was no surprise when Williams himself sealed the victory in added time after Anoruo set him up to score from close range.

This 45 minutes was probably Ferriby’s worst 45 minutes for a long time. It is certainly difficult to understand how they could perform so differently in the two halves. It is tempting to say that the game was decided by the wind but Ferriby have shown before that they can play good football against a strong wind and today they could achieve nothing against the wind.  It’s clearly going to require a better defensive performance when they travel to barrow on Tuesday.

Ferriby manager Billy Heath commented, “We should have had a good lead by half-time but we gave them a goal start with another bad goal from our point of view. In the second-half we were very poor and offered no threat. It was a bitterly disappointing performance.”

NFU: Tom Nicholson, Louis Bruce Josh Wilde, Adam Bolder (Nathan Jarman 78), Matt Wilson, Danny Hone,  Danny Clarke,  Russell Fry, Tom Denton, Curtis Bateson, Jason St Juste (Danny Emerton 57),
Subs not used: Jonathan Hedge, Mark Gray,  Nathan Peat,

Colwyn Bay: Chris Sanna, Wesley Baynes, Michael Lee, Chris Noone, Jonathan Royle, Prince Haywood (Moustapa Saiel 90+5), Obi Anoruo (Ashley Seddon 90+3),  Tom Buckley, Rob Hopley, Marc Williams, James Ellison. Subs not usedGareth Rees, Joss Bakker, Adam Hodgson,




Our Sponsors

Our Sponsors