NFU 1 FC United of M/cr 1 (Evo Prem)


Evostik Northern Premier League Premier Division

North Ferriby United 1   FC United of Manchester 1

Ferriby increased their lead to six points and extended their unbeaten run to 11 games with a hard-fought draw against FC United of Manchester.

A draw was probably a fair result in and and-to-end and entertaining game in which neither midfield was allowed time to settle on the ball.

Ryan Kendall almost put Ferriby ahead in the opening minute after winning the ball in midfield but his shot went narrowly wide.

FC United responded and Adam Nicklin had to race out to take the ball of Michael norton's toes as the striker was about to shoot.

There were opportunities at each end, Stve Gardner cleared a cross to the far post to concede a corner.

Ferriby responded with Liam King's cross evading everybody as it flew across the edge of the goal area. Chris Bolder then headed narrowly over from Fry's cross.

A quick break from defence saw FC United take the lead after 38 minutes. The ball eventually reached Jerome Wright who scored with a 15 yard shot.

The lead lasted just four minutes. FC keeper James Spencer beat-out Jack Muldoon's header and Russ Fry pounced to score from two yards.

The second-half was as entertaining as the first but chances were limited.

Nicklin made good saves from Jake Cottrell and Wright.

For Ferriby Liam King shot over from 18 yards and Mark gray was unable to make a clean contact as the ball dropped to him over a crowd of players.

Liam and Chris Bolder exerted more authority in midfield in the second-half and this made life more difficult for the visitors.

Ferriby manager Billy Heath commented, "It was a good point against a very good and bright team.We dealt with their attacking play, especially without our regular centre-back pairing. This was another really good team performance. We equalised at just the right time and deserved the point."

Striker Gary Bradshaw went off with a hamstring injury and will most likely miss Saturday's game at Buxton.

NFU: Adam Nicklin, Steve Gardner, Nathan Peat, Liam King, Steve Ridley, Mark Gray, Russell Fry,  Chris Bolder, Ryan Kendall, Gary Bradshaw Jack Muldoon (25), Ryan Williams (Ben Hunter 78)  Non-playing subs: Danny Clarke, Dean Lisles, Antoni Pecora 

FC United: james Spencer, Kyle Jacobs, Lee Neville, Nicky Platt, Adam Jones, Dean Stott, Matthew Wolfenden, Jake Cottrell, Mike Norton, Jerome Wright, Chris Amadi (Greg Daniels 79). Non-playing subs: Phil McGrath, Scott Cheetham,  Cederic Krou, Mathew Carr

Our Sponsors

Our Sponsors