Lincoln City v NFU (FAT 3)

Lincoln City v North Ferriby United
FA Carlsberg Trophy 3rd Round

Saturday 11 January
Kick-off 3.00 pm

Ferriby take a break from League matches  on Saturday when they travel to Skrill Premier side Lincoln City in the  FA Carlsberg Trophy 3rd  Round.

Lincoln will start clear favourites but Ferriby will not be daunted by their opponents. The Villagers have beaten Skrill Premier sides Hyde and Woking in the previous two rounds.

Lincoln are 16th in the 24-team Premier Division and have had a mixed season. They have struggled to score goals at home but they will be in high spirits on Saturday having beaten promotion-chasing Alfreton Town 4-1at Sincil Bank on Tuesday.

Ferriby will not be short of confidence. They sit top of the Skrill North and have a game in hand on most f the chasing pack. The Villagers had a crucial win at promotion rivals on Saturday. Anthony Wilson’s header just before half-time separated the two sides in a game of very few chances. Ferriby showed their character and spirit and after a fairly even first-half they controlled the second-half and looked the likely winners throughout.

Ferriby go in to the game with three straight wins behind them. The game at Hednesford was Ferriby’s fifth game in 14 days; this is a big demand on players who have to juggle their football commitments with jobs and family-life.

Ferriby manager was delighted with the win at Hednesford. “We were the better team and the second-half performance was superb.”

Looking to the Lincoln game, Heath commented, “Once again we have a chance to compare ourselves to a premier Division side. We have shown we compete with our wins over Hyde and Woking. However, we know that Lincoln will start as favourites and that puts some pressure on them to perform in front of their own fans.”

Heath will be without Anthony Wilson who is suspended. Paul Robson is doubtful with a slight hamstring injury

NFU from: Adam Nicklin, Antoni Pecora, Dean Lisles, Paul Robson, Nathan Peat, Gregg Anderson, Danny Hone, Matt Wilson, Jonathan D’Laryea, Liam King, Russell Fry, Danny Clarke,  Nathan Jarman, Jamie Yates, Ryan Kendall, Dan Clayton, Louis Bruce

If a replay is needed, it will be at the Eon Visual Media Stadium on Tuesday 14 January.


Our Sponsors

Our Sponsors